Business Casual

cat. number: K7275
barcode: 730003727528
Format: CD, Download
Release Date World: Monday 20th September 2010

Business Casual, Chromeo’s third album sees Dave 1 and P-Thugg perfect their unique hybrid of Rick James meets Hall & Oates electro-funk. The album is laced with Chromeo’s characteristic sense of playful fun yet the record also marks a step forward for the duo charting deeper, more reflective territory than previous offerings and a more sophisticated, developed sound.  Mixed by Phillipe Zdar, who helped craft Phoenix’s Grammy-award winning Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix, the album boasts sparkling, highly polished production throughout.  Sonically early 80s yacht rock, disco, jheri curl funk, R&B and pin-sharp power-pop are all present in the retro-yet-futurist mix.  Lyrically the limelight shines brightly on girls and dancing but in the shadows lurk laments over love gone wrong and complicated affairs of the heart.  The album’s other numerous highlights include the guitar lashed propulsive electro groove of Night By Night and current single Don’t Turn The Lights On, the electro-boogie duet Hot Mess, the insatiable shimmering disco of When The Night Falls, the lush, string-laden Don’t Walk Away and tough electro cut You Make It Rough.


1 Hot Mess

2 I’m Not Contagious

3 Night By Night

4 Don’t Turn The Lights On

5 You Make It Rough

6 When The Night Falls

7 Don’t Walk Away

8 J’ai Claqué La Porte

9 The Right Type

10 Grow Up